I'm supposed to transfer next year.

Discussion in 'Help with Life' started by 61, Nov 14, 2014.

1. 61 No. B

I'm going to a two-year school designed to transfer it's students to a four-year school. I'm in my third semester, which means that next summer would be when I transfer. I have no idea where I want to go. My dad keeps aggressively suggesting programs in schools nearby that don' t appeal to me at all (he does this type of thing a lot, not just with school). I've said for a while now that I want to stay in the state, but these past couple days I've been thinking that maybe going away would be good for me. It's a scary situation to be in to suddenly have these thoughts and not know what to do about them when I'm supposed to act on them in about 6 months. So I thought maybe taking a semester off would be something to consider? When I started school that was something I told myself I'd never do because it would be hard to come back. I don't know... what do you guys think about this? Obviously I'm going to talk to some people at school, but I need input from people who aren't my parents. It's overwhelming.

2. Misty gimme kiss

I'm pretty much in the same boat as you, I go to a two-year school as well. Through some poor planning on my part it actually took me 2.5 years to finish here (I'm in my last semester now), and I didn't want to transfer in the spring and needed to save money to transfer, so I'm taking a semester off. I'll also be moving a bit away regardless of where I go and waiting this extra semester enables me to take my sister with me. Honestly I'm pretty glad for it, it gives me time to really prepare for what a big change it is, and having my sister with me makes moving out a lot less scary.