Support Searching for a good quality Capture Card

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Krowley, Dec 7, 2013.

1. Krowley Moderator

Hey, I'm looking for a decent capture card that ranges from $50-150. Just anything with good reviews and HDMI/component cables. I've been meaning to get one for a while now, so I thought I should ask here first since many people on KHV do livestreams and have youtube channels and whatnot.

2. Amaury Legendary Hero

You could try what I have, which is Roxio Easy VHS to DVD. It also works as a capture card, and it looks like it comes with an S cable for better quality.

I use the composite plugins since that's what my PS2 has, but the quality's still decent:

3. Misty gimme kiss

He wants component & HDMI support, Amaury.

LUCKY FOR YOU KROWLEY I AM A WALKING CAPTURE CARD EXPERT
    ( not really but I own one and researched heavily before purchasing so I can rattle off pros/cons of the major models with ease )

I'm going to firstly assume that you're looking for an external capture card (rather than one that uses a PCI slot on your mobo), they're a lot more convenient to move around & I'm pretty sure you use a laptop anyway.

I'd say the biggest players in your price range (or slightly outside) are the Intensity Shuttle, Roxio Game Capture HD PRO, AverMedia HD Game Capture, Hauppauge HD PVR 2 Gaming Edition, and Elgato Game Capture HD. Pretty much any of them will suit your needs, and the quality differences between them are fairly negligible. If you're really curious to see example footage, go to youtube and just search 'quality test'. Still, I'll run through each.

Intensity Shuttle
    Base Price: $200
    Supports: Component, Composite, S-Video, HDMI (1080p)
    Built-in livestream support? No (Must use other software to livestream, like XSplit. Check compatibility of software with product.)
    Power Source: USB