Sustainable development is bull

Discussion in 'Debate Corner' started by Styx, May 27, 2010.

1. Styx That's me inside your head.

I'm studying it right now. Have an exam about it tomorrow.
    One of the major milestones in the history of sustainable development was "Our Common Future" (aka "The Brundtland Report").
    Basically for the first time sustainable development became a massive issue, appearing on the international agenda, along with this key statement:

In other words, development is important, but we cannot let it happen at the cost of our future generations. The environment where our children and their children will live in will have a great influence on their welfare, and thus must be preserved. That's the gist of it.

====

I think it's bull. Seriously. Humanity's awareness for the environment, and for sustainable development, has never been this high and a lot of people start taking measures. But to what avail?

Sustainable development means creating strong, durable bonds between planet, people and profit. This, as I'm learning today but already knew before, is incredibly difficult. This is shown by the miserably failed gathering at Copenhagen. Aside from the many dilemmas we're bound to encounter along the road, some countries just plainly have an attitude problem. This is a blatant case of pondering over a Gordian knot if I've ever seen one.

Why do we stretch humanity's life span, and how far do we plan to go?
    We won't have it any better at the time of the apocalypse, the eradication of the planet by whatever astrophysical means is chronologically the first (black hole, sun turning into a red giant, whatever) than that we have it now, if (and that's a very big if) we even make it that far.