Lock and Key

Discussion in 'Archives' started by Jiku Neon, Jun 12, 2008.

1. Jiku Neon Kingdom Keeper

With summer comes a lot of time freed up for the creative process. This is my first attempt at getting back into it.

Door1: Ignition

The earth was lit with a brilliant fire, a fire signaling it’s end. In the final inferno all was lost, not a trace of what once was remained, nothing but the ashes and the memories of a world gone by. For many years the land remained cold and dark, the skies blackened with soot and smoke, the atmosphere long since burned away. This interminable period held no life and no record, not a sign to signal it’s beginning and no herald of it’s end. This was the end of the world. There were those that tried to stop it, those that tried to escape it, but in the end none came to fruition. There were those that tried to accept it and live on as they could as well. This is the story of why the world hasn’t ended quite yet.

“Another day, another way.” An abnormally slender youth with unruly black hair sat in a swivel chair and stared closely at his fingers, between which he held a normal pencil with no point to speak of. For another few moments he stared, shifting the balance ever so slightly from time to time. Finally he attempted to twirl the pencil between his fingers and dropped it. It rolled at first quickly then slowing down before coming to a halt at the far wall. He turned to stare at it again, this time it wasn’t long before he moved. He simply left it there and left the room empty and devoid of life. The room stayed still for several moments before he came back to retrieve his pencil. Finally he left his home looking up at the night sky, tinged with a half light radiating from the eastern horizon.