Support Google Chrome Underlining Links

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Amaury, Jan 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    I got things switched around last night because I moved to Google Chrome this morning due to the auto-width adjustment issue with tables on Mozilla Firefox. However, now it's underlining links, or at least it is on vBulletin.org Forum.

    Is there something I can adjust to fix this?

    Thanks!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. libregkd -

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    2,902
    ...
     
  3. Cherry Berry Chaser

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Nudist Beach
    485
    ...
     
  4. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Does that also remove the underlines when hovering over a link? Those were there on Mozilla Firefox, and I want to keep those. Links sometimes aren't noticeable colors, and the hovering underline makes it easy.

    I just don't want the underlines when not hovering over links.

    [DOUBLEPOST=1357928508][/DOUBLEPOST]

    I was partially wrong in terms of the underlines on hovering. On vBulletin.org, it doesn't underline when hovering. They have it so it changes color.

    Here's a screenshot on Mozilla Firefox to compare. This is what vBulletin.org Forum should look like on Google Chrome:

    [​IMG]

    As to why it's only that site, I don't know. Maybe because it's running vBulletin 3.6.12.
     
  5. Misty gimme kiss

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Gender:
    Cisgender Female
    Location:
    alderaan
    6,590
    It's dependent upon how the site sets up their links. However, if you don't want it on any site, install the add-on Stylish, and write a new style. If you want to disable link underlines on every site, just use this code:
    Code:
    a, a:link { text-decoration: none !important; }
    If you want it only on the vBulletin.org site:
    Code:
    @-moz-document domain('vbulletin.org') {
        a, a:link { text-decoration: none !important; }
    }
    There's probably a simpler way to do this.
     
  6. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Thanks. I'll give this a try. :)

    Also, yes, I know it's dependent on sites, but if it wasn't like this on vBulletin.org Forum with Mozilla Firefox, why would it be like this on Google Chrome? XD

    Another weird thing I noticed was that back when we were on vBulletin, the header background of WGO on the 5.0 styles was gray on Mozilla Firefox, but the transparent blue with the graphics on Internet Explorer (and I think Google Chrome) that you used for all the other headers.[DOUBLEPOST=1357971837][/DOUBLEPOST]
    I can get it working for everything, but not vBulletin.org Forum specifically.
     
  7. Misty gimme kiss

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Gender:
    Cisgender Female
    Location:
    alderaan
    6,590
    Different browsers handle code differently.
    My bad, try this:
    Code:
    @-moz-document url-prefix(http://www.vbulletin.org), url-prefix(http://vbulletin.org) {
        a, a:link { text-decoration: none !important; }
    }
     
  8. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Hm. Still not working. Am I doing something wrong?

    I even tried adding http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/index.php to the "Applies to."
     
  9. Misty gimme kiss

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Gender:
    Cisgender Female
    Location:
    alderaan
    6,590
    Ugh sorry, some of the code was parsed into BBCode. Updated my previous post.
     
  10. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Wow, this is getting frustrating, haha! It's still not working.

    Do you have Google Chrome? Could you see if it works for you?
     
  11. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Anything, Misty? :)

     
  12. Technic☆Kitty Hmm

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    1,299
    Code:
    a:-webkit-any-link {
    text-decoration: none !important; } 
    Insert this css into stylish for Chrome. Tested and works. The only thing this code does is remove any text decorations such as underlining. Not sure, but this should cover it for both non-hover and hover. If not let me know and I'll fix the code. I do know this removes the underlining for non-hover, and the underlines didn't appear when I hovered on the site I was at. However, that could be due to only applying an underline to links in general. If, for instance, a site were to make it so links, while hovered, were to be underlined then this code may or may not work.

    You can either use this for a single site by specifying the site in the style sheet, in stylish. Click the specify button, then 'URLs on the Domain' then enter the domain of the site you want the style sheet to be specified to, (i.e. kh-vids.net). Click add, then check the box for enabled, then save. Voila, underlining for links are gone.

    I'm sure there's a Firefox version for this code, for those interested. You could try following everything I've said, just replace 'webkit' with 'moz' in the code. Untested for Mozilla Firefox.

    EDIT: Now that I've thought about it, this should cover any links. Even if they're hovered. 'a:' would cover it even if it was 'a:hover' I believe.

    EDIT#2: No http/https/www required before the link for domain specification.
     
  13. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Didn't work.

    Also, this isn't an issue on Mozilla Firefox, just Google Chrome for some reason. And, yes, links usually underline when hovered, but vBulletin.org has them change to a different color when being hovered over instead of being underlined.

    vBulletin.org MF.png vBulletin.org GC.png
     
  14. Misty gimme kiss

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Gender:
    Cisgender Female
    Location:
    alderaan
    6,590
    It's up to how the developer styles the page; underlines are common behavior in links, browser differences, etc. If it's a personal bugaboo though you can just use this--no need for any webkit declarations:
    Code:
    a, a:link, a:visited, a:hover, a:active { text-decoration: none !important; }
    Should work for all links, regardless of state.
     
  15. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    *sighs*

    I don't know what I'm doing wrong, because it's not working for me. Is it working for you on Google Chrome?

    Stylish.png

    I had the same problem when you tried to help me before. It's most likely me doing something wrong.
     
  16. Misty gimme kiss

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Gender:
    Cisgender Female
    Location:
    alderaan
    6,590
    Just use 'vbulletin.org' in the URLs field. Works fine for me.
     
  17. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    I think that was the problem before. Who knew the http and www would cause it not to work?

    Thank you!!!
     
  18. Technic☆Kitty Hmm

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    1,299
    Whoops, that was my bad. I didn't know the www wouldn't work in stylish. Also want to point out that the code I gave you works, it was just the www/http added onto the link that threw it off.

    Glad you found what you were looking for ^^
     
  19. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Why doesn't it work with http / https and www, though?
     
  20. Technic☆Kitty Hmm

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    1,299
    If I remember correctly, I say remember but really it's educated guessing, I'd have to say that the domain is what comes after the www. The 'http' 'https' and 'www' aren't really part of the domain. For instance, when you go to buy a domain, you don't buy the http or the www. Http and https are types of connections you have to the site. Http being standard and https being secure. www is what you are connecting to, the world wide web. So, technically speaking, the only thing required is the domain portion. Like how you can just enter kh-vids.net into your browser and it'll direct you to the site anyway. It automatically picks up on the connection type. We often place www in front out of habit, but really that's just letting the browser know we're not searching for something local and that we'd like to go onto the internet.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.