Support How Are Tracks Looped?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Amaury, Jan 14, 2014.

1. Amaury Legendary Hero

I'm tagging @Aiden Pearce, @Loxare, @Hayato, @Olaf, @Ars Nova since they responded in my other thread and figured it would be fair for them to be notified about this. I'll also tag you, @libregkd, since this is your area of expertise as well.

Based on this discussion, I figured I'd now ask how they make tracks loop.

Example:

One thing I noticed about tracks looping is that when they start over again, they don't include the introduction to the main track, if that's what to best call that, as seen by the example above -- 0:01 - 0:06 doesn't play when it starts over.

2. Arch Mana Knight

As a composer, I know it's a bad idea to include the intro to a song in a loop because it breaks the pace of the song. There are only a handful of songs I can think of that include the intro in the loop. Intros are often slower or faster paced than the rest of the song so you can't just stick it in the middle with no thought like a loop.

3. Amaury Legendary Hero

So that answers that, but how do people make the tracks actually loop? And by people, I mean the composers or whoever loops the tracks (since they always do it perfectly).

4. Jin うごかないで

Most likely by using a sound editing program such as Audacity, but something a bit more professional that's my best guess unless they record the same orchestra group playing the same piece of music but looped but I doubt they'd do that for obvious purposes most likely they'll find a key point in the music that'll match up with a point close to the end of the music that'll make into a smooth loop without it sounding like it was hard cut transitioned from one pace to another

5. Arch Mana Knight