Possible for Past Injuries to Weaken Bones?

Discussion in 'Help with Life' started by Amaury, Oct 20, 2013.

1. Amaury Legendary Hero

As I'm sure some of you remember, on Saturday, June 23, 2012, I sprained my left ankle pretty badly, and it took about a month for it to completely heal.

About a month ago, I managed to injure my left ankle again ironically. The reason is the same: jumping. However, the only difference is that I don't think I landed on it wrong or anything this time. I think either I did land on it wrong, just nowhere near as bad as last time, or it just got sore.

It's now been a month, and it's still bothering me. So as my title asks, is it possible that the bad sprain I got weakened my ankle and it's why I injured it again (more easily?) about a month ago?

Overall, it's not as bad. It only hurts when I turn my foot, and I don't need the ace bandage this time.

2. MadDoctorMaddie I'm a doctor, not a custom title!

Admittedly, I was never great at anatomy, but as far as I know, a sprain affects the muscle, not the bone. But yeah, the muscles do weaken somewhat, partly due to strain, partly due to aging. I've sprained my left ankle at least half a dozen times, and my right one only once, and healing does take longer now than it did when I was 14. It should still heal fine, just remember to ice it and keep it elevated when it bothers you, that should quicken the healing process.

3. Amaury Legendary Hero

Thank you.

As already stated, it's nowhere near as bad as last time. It only "hurts," so to speak, when I move it just right, such as bending it. I don't need an ace bandage this time, either, and can walk around just fine.

The problem is that, because it's nowhere near as bad as last time, I'm still jumping around on it, and my mom is saying that it's prolonging the healing. However, I'm not too sure why, exactly. Even if I'm jumping on it, it should still be healing.

4. Misty gimme kiss