Support Videos freeze or are choppy

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Noise, Jul 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182
    So...back story my computer is a Gateway and it is around 5 years old.

    These past few months I have noticed that if I watch videos on youtube or other video providing websites it because really choppy. I haven't really noticed my overall computer slowing down it is (from what I have seen) just the videos. Netflixs works decent but sometimes slows...which might be the internet connection.


    I also have gone down to a lower resolution but then the videos just look awful. I know I can't play HD 1080p videos but can I at least not have choppy vids?

    Is there a way that this can be fixed without having to get a new computer (which might happen soon)


    Halp.
     
  2. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    What browser are you using?
     
  3. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182
    I use Chrome and sometimes Firefox
     
  4. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Is this an issue on both browsers or just one?
     
  5. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182

    Both..as far as I can tell there isn't any difference.
     
  6. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Since both browsers have silent automatic updates now, I'm assuming they're both up-to-date?

    Can you provide your computer specs?
     
  7. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182

    sure what specs are you looking for?
     
  8. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Anything that could be causing the issue, such as RAM being too low or something.
     
  9. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182

    Where do I find that again...I have a PC[DOUBLEPOST=1374616020][/DOUBLEPOST]Jk I found it

    I have a Intel Core 2 Duo processor 1.83GHz

    RAM is 4.00 GB

    64 bit operating system.
     
  10. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    I have 2.00 GB and 1.75 GB usable for RAM, so your RAM looks good.

    Sounds like it could maybe be your processor. I have an AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor with 2.80 GHz
     
  11. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182
    and if it the processor problem then I am assuming I would have to buy a new computer or get a replacement?
     
  12. Amaury Defense Attorney

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    I wouldn't think so. Just a new processor.

    However, seeing as it's an old computer, buying a new one might not be a bad idea.
     
  13. Nate_River Hollow Bastion Committee

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Gender:
    sneakynandossexual
    Location:
    1942
    2,020
    704
    Try clearing your cache and restarting your router first. RAM and your CPU won't have much to do with your internet connection ._.
     
  14. Miles Cull a Duty 2 : Electric Boogaloo

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ohio
    258
    It's either you graphics card or processor. My win764 bit laptop has choppy video on YouTube. I have yet to determine which one it is. It's most likely the graphics card.
     
  15. Noise For Love and Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Valhalla
    182
    I think I will just have to get a new computer. It would be best cause I am sure there are more problems.

    Thanks guys!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.